



## CAPITAL PLANNING REGION O/A WINNIPEG METROPOLITAN REGION

# Board Meeting #2: Thursday June 15, 2023

**START TIME:** 8:30 a.m.

LOCATION: Canad Inns Polo Park - 1405 St Matthews Ave (Ambassador K)

| BOARD MEMBER                | POSITION                |                              | PRESENT<br>(In person or Zoom) | REGRETS |
|-----------------------------|-------------------------|------------------------------|--------------------------------|---------|
| Michael Moore               | Chair                   |                              |                                |         |
| Elisabeth Saftiuk           | Vice Chair              |                              |                                |         |
| Mayor Scott Gillingham      | Past Chair<br>Executive | City of Winnipeg             |                                |         |
| Reeve Brad Erb              | Director<br>Executive   | RM of Macdonald              |                                |         |
| Mayor Debbie Fiebelkorn     | Director<br>Executive   | RM of St. Clements           |                                |         |
| Mayor Chris Ewen            | Director                | RM of Ritchot                |                                |         |
| Mayor Armand Poirier        | Director                | RM of Taché                  |                                |         |
| Mayor Carla Devlin          | Director                | RM of East St. Paul          |                                |         |
| Reeve Christa Vann Mitchell | Director                | RM of Cartier                |                                |         |
| Reeve Delmer Nott           | Director                | RM of St. Francois<br>Xavier |                                |         |
| Mayor Jim Robson            | Director                | RM of Headingley             |                                |         |
| Councillor John Buffie      | Director                | City of Selkirk              |                                |         |
| Mayor Joy Sul               | Director                | RM of St. Andrews            |                                |         |
| Reeve Ken Mulligan          | Director                | RM of Rosser                 |                                |         |
| Mayor Myron Dyck            | Director                | Town of Niverville           |                                |         |
| Mayor Patrick Therrien      | Director                | RM of Springfield            |                                |         |
| Mayor Peter Truijen         | Director                | RM of West St. Paul          |                                |         |
| Mayor Rick Gamble           | Director                | Village of Dunnottar         |                                |         |
| Mayor Sandra Smith          | Director                | Town of Stonewall            |                                |         |
| Reeve Wes Taplin            | Director                | RM of Rockwood               |                                |         |
| STAFF                       |                         |                              |                                |         |
| Colleen Sklar               | Executive Director      | WMR                          |                                |         |
| Jennifer Freeman            | Program Manager         | WMR                          |                                |         |
| GUESTS                      |                         |                              |                                |         |
| Deputy Minister Bruce Gray  |                         | Province of Manitoba         |                                |         |
| Dr. Robert Murray           | Interlocutor            | Dentons                      |                                |         |
| Bradley Madison             |                         | Pitblado                     |                                |         |



## **MEETING AGENDA**

| Marissa Warshawski | Warshawski Consulting |
|--------------------|-----------------------|
| Nicole Magas       | Province of Manitoba  |

#### 1. OPENING - CALL TO ORDER

Action: Declaration Lead: Chair Moore

#### 2. MEETING AGENDA

Action: Approval Lead: Chair Moore

Approval of meeting agenda for June 15, 2023, as presented.

Motion: To approve the meeting agenda for June 15, 2023, as presented.

Moved: Seconded: Carried.

#### 3. MEETING MINUTES

Action: Approval Lead: Chair Moore

Approve Board meeting minutes for April 26, 2023 (meeting #1) as presented. Motion: To approve the Board meeting minutes for April 26, 2023, as presented.

Moved: Seconded: Carried.

#### 4. WELCOMING REMARKS & PRESENTATION ON REGIONAL PLAN ADOPTION PROCESS

Action: Information Lead: Deputy Minister Bruce Gray, Municipal Relations

Presentation on the Plan20-50 adoption process as per legislation and regulation. Documents provided for information:

- 4.1 Memo dated June 1, 2023 establishing the Plan20-50 Technical Advisory Committee (TAC)
- 4.2 Terms of Reference for TAC
- 4.3 Letter dated June 5 2023 to Board Chair regarding Plan20-50 adoption process

## 5. PRESENTATION ON FIDUCIARY DUTY

Action: Information Lead: Bradley Madison, Legal Counsel, Pitblado

Presentation on obligations as a statutory corporation Board Member

#### 6. CONSENT AGENDA

Action: Approval of Consent Agenda Lead: Chair Moore

- 6.1. Approval of Executive Committee meeting minutes for May 18 2023 as presented.
- 6.2. Receive for information Provincial Funding Agreement Briefing Note and Agreement 6.2.1
- 6.3. Receive for information Financial Report
- 6.4. Receive for information Briefing Note on Transition Progress Report (including confirmed board meeting schedule) together with Transition Progress Report 6.4.1

Motion: To approve the Consent Agenda, as presented.

Moved: Seconded: carried.



## **MEETING AGENDA**

## 7. POLICY AND PROCEDURE MANUAL

Action: Approval Lead: Chair Moore

Briefing Note on Policy and Procedure Manual documents (3) listed below:

7.1 Procurement Policy

7.2 Member Contribution Policy

7.3 Financial Reporting & Budgeting Policy

Motion: To approve and formally adopt the Policy and Procedure Manual documents: Procurement Policy, Member Contribution Policy and Financial Reporting & Budgeting Policy as presented.

Moved: Seconded: carried.

### 8. **NEW BUSINESS**

#### 9. IN CAMERA

Action: Information & Discussion

- Personnel
- Legal

Motion to move in camera – time Motion to move out of camera – time

### 10. NEXT BOARD MEETING DATE

- Thursday September 14, 2023, at 9:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. (location TBD)
- Confirmed meeting schedule for 2023 & 2024 in Briefing Note at item 6.4.1.

## 11. MEETING ADJOURNED

Action: Approval Lead: Chair Moore

Motion to adjourn meeting at

Moved: Seconded: carried.