



CAPITAL PLANNING REGION O/A WINNIPEG METROPOLITAN REGION (WMR)

Board Meeting – Thursday, October 19, 2023

START TIME: 9:00 a.m.

END TIME: 10:37 a.m.
LOCATION: WMR office – 4-875 St. James Street

BOARD MEMBER	POSITION		PRESENT (In person or Zoom)	REGRETS
Michael Moore	Chair	Provincial Appointee	In person	
Elisabeth Saftiuk	Vice Chair	Provincial Appointee	In person	
Chief Gordon BlueSky	Member at Large	Provincial Appointee	Zoom	
Mayor Scott Gillingham	Director Executive	City of Winnipeg	In person	
Reeve Brad Erb	Director Executive	RM of Macdonald	Zoom	
Mayor Debbie Fiebelkorn	Director Executive	RM of St. Clements	Zoom	
Mayor Armand Poirier	Director	RM of Taché	In person	
Mayor Carla Devlin	Director	RM of East St. Paul		Regrets
Reeve Christa Vann Mitchell	Director	RM of Cartier	Zoom	
Reeve Delmer Nott	Director	RM of St. François Xavier	Zoom	
Mayor Jim Robson	Director	RM of Headingley	Zoom	
Councillor John Buffie	Director	City of Selkirk	Zoom	
Mayor Joy Sul	Director	RM of St. Andrews	Zoom	
Reeve Ken Mulligan	Director	RM of Rosser	In person	
Mayor Myron Dyck	Director	Town of Niverville	Zoom	
Mayor Patrick Therrien	Director	RM of Springfield	Zoom	
Mayor Peter Truijen	Director	RM of West St. Paul	In person	
Mayor Rick Gamble	Director	Village of Dunnottar		Regrets
Mayor Sandra Smith	Director	Town of Stonewall	Zoom	
Deputy Mayor Shane Pelletier	Director	RM of Ritchot	In person	
Reeve Wes Taplin	Director	RM of Rockwood	Zoom	
WMR STAFF				
Jennifer Freeman	Executive Director	WMR	In person	
Ryan Litovitch	Planner	WMR	In person	



MEETING MINUTES

1. OPENING - CALL TO ORDER

Action: Declaration Lead: Chair Moore

2. LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

Action: Declaration Lead: Jennifer Freeman

We would like to acknowledge that the Winnipeg Metropolitan Region is located on Treaty 1 Territory, the ancestral lands of the Cree, Ojibway, Oji-Cree, Dene, Dakota, Lakota & Nakota, and the Homeland of the Red River Métis. The Capital Planning Region Board is committed to working in collaboration and partnership with First Nations and the Red River Métis in the spirit of truth and reconciliation.

3. MEETING AGENDA

Action: Approval Lead: Chair Moore

Approve meeting agenda for October 19, 2023, as presented.

Motion: To approve the meeting agenda for October 19, 2023, as presented.

Moved: Scott Gillingham Seconded: Peter Truijen Carried.

4. MEETING MINUTES

Action: Approval Lead: Chair Moore

Approve meeting minutes for September 14, 2023, as presented.

Motion: To approve the Board meeting minutes for September 14, 2023, as presented.

Moved: Armand Poirier Seconded: Shane Pelletier Carried.

5. BUSINESS ARISING FROM PREVIOUS MEETING

None

6. CONSENT AGENDA

Action: Approval of Consent Agenda Lead: Chair Moore

Receive for information:

6.1. Briefing Note + Updated Procurement Policy

6.2. Briefing Note + Updated Adoption Timeline

6.3. Briefing Note + Updated History of Plan20-50 & Updated Plan20-50 FAQ

6.4. Briefing Note - Update on operations

Motion: To approve the Consent Agenda, as presented.

Moved: Brad Erb Seconded: Delmer Nott Carried.



MEETING MINUTES

7. <u>UPDATES</u>

Action: Information Lead: Executive Director, Jennifer Freeman

• Regional Plan Adoption Process

7.1. Briefing Note - Update on the regional plan adoption process

8. BOARD MEMBER HANDBOOK

Action: Information Lead: Executive Director, Jennifer Freeman

• Brief walk through of the new Capital Planning Region Board Member Handbook.

8.1. Briefing Note + Board Member Handbook

9. RESILIENCY PORTAL

Action: Information Lead: Planner, Ryan Litovitch

9.1. Briefing Note – update on the resiliency portal.

10. NEW BUSINESS

11. IN CAMERA

Action: Approve Lead: Chair Moore

Motion to move in camera at 10:02 a.m.

Moved: Armand Poirier Seconded: Shane Pelletier Carried.

Motion to move out of camera – 10:30 a.m.

Moved: Shane Pelletier Seconded: Armand Poirier Carried.

12. NEXT BOARD MEETING DATE

 AGM & Board meeting - Thursday November 16, 2023, at 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. at Canada Inns, Polo Park

13. MEETING ADJOURNED

Action: Approval Lead: Chair Moore

Motion to adjourn meeting at 10:37 a.m.

Moved: Peter Truijen Seconded: Ken Mulligan Carried.